Keep Your Old Beer Bottles

After a long weekend of partying, my roommates and I always dread looking at our kitchen and living room. When we come down the steps we see crushed plastic cups, empty alcohol bottles, empty Tropicana juice containers, and empty beer bottles. During our 2 p.m. Sunday cleaning session I realized that the empty corona bottles could be used for something. I didn’t know what exactly, I just knew they could be for something so I set two aside.

Once we were done cleaning and I stood in the middle of my living room with both bottles in my hand, staring at them as if they were going to tell me what to do with them, it came to me. One of my favorite Mexican restaurants back at home has Corona bottle salt and pepper shakers.  So that’s what I decided to make with them.

 

Photo By: Jadina Hargrove

Photo By: Jadina Hargrove

All I needed was salt, pepper, a funnel (you can make one out of paper), and bottle caps.

The trickiest part about making these salt and pepper shakers is the bottle caps. Luckily for me a friend of mine works at a bar and was able to snatch me two bottle caps. So check out your local bar or pub to see if they have any extra laying around, or you can buy a bunch off amazon here.

filling

Photo By: Jadina Hargrove

So after you have all your materials the rest is a breeze. All that’s left is funneling in your salt into one bottle, and funneling the pepper into the other bottle, and then popping the cap on.

And then there you have it! Your very own set of Corona salt and pepper shakers!

finished

The finished product

Until next time! 

-Jadina 

 

